Good Samaritan

Good Samaritan By Barbara C Rowe (Guest Blogger)

Ladies and gentlemen, I would like to introduce you to another guest blogger; Barbara C Rowe; she is an author of children’s books and she is also a prolific blogger. Her blog’s URL is: https://barbaracroweauthor.wordpress.com/

Without further ado, I give you Barbara C Rowe’s, Good Samaritan. Enjoy!

Good Samaritan

Tree Clipart

During the course of a move one year, I had some quite exciting events take place. I had moved from an apartment to a nice 3-bedroom house and was having to make many trips, of a lengthy distance. I had one of my best friends and her family help move me although; they did more of the actual moving than I did…lifting, carrying and such. I couldn’t even tell you how many trips had to be made, but I knew there were many.

On most of the trips, they drove a truck and I drove my car, filled to the top with clothes and small items. On the last trip to my new home, I was lagging a little behind the others. Knowing how slow I usually drive in the mountains, they didn’t think much of me not showing up right away. It was a beautiful day, and I was in no hurry to get to the finish line, knowing the hardest task was ahead. Now from my stories, you have figured out I am quite an animal lover and I am very adamant about caring for strays, big and small. It makes no difference to me.

I was taking more time than usual to catch up to my friends but that was because but I came upon a traffic block. There, right smack in the middle of the 2-lane country road, was a big cow. I was terribly concerned, for the animals safety because the speed limit was at least 55 and it was in the bend of the road. I saw a truck sitting ahead of it, with a woman sitting inside, talking on a cell phone. Why was she not trying to shoo the cow out of harms way? I didn’t want to even begin to imagine what damage it would cause to a car, coming fast around the bend. Someone or something could get killed!

I was not going to have it. I am a woman who acts first on instinct and considers the consequences afterwards. Bet, you already knew that! I parked my car back a ways from the cow so other cars could see my blinking warning lights, and proceeded to try to chase the cow out of the road. All along that woman stayed on her phone. Thanks a lot for the help, lady! I thought to myself.

There was a small house close to the road, and I thought I could chase the cow into their yard, momentarily. Wrong! It chased me into their yard, and ran me up on the top step of the 2 elderly ladies porch. When I knocked on the door to ask if I could come in to wait for help to arrive, as the cow seemed to be overly irritated by my gestures, they slammed the door in my face. Not very nice, don’t you agree?

The more I yelled, the madder it got. Funny. I had seen many cattle before, and they would usually run away if you yelled at them. I mean run away from you, not after you. As I became more concerned and frightened at the behavior of this irate animal, I happened to examine its anatomy. To my surprise, but feeling quite stupid, I realized the cow was a bull and my actions had gotten him all upset and in the attack mode.

I don’t know if they actually see color or not, but I was afraid my bright orange clothes, did not help. The lady on the phone had been talking to the police and they had arrived by then, along with a few trucks. Well! I did get it out of the road, and save the day after all. Did I get any thanks? Did I get a “good job”? No, just a couple of law enforcement officers yelling at me, saying how stupid and dangerous, what I had done was. I didn’t know. Darn. Good Samaritan goes unappreciated.

When I arrived at my new home, Poppy, the man I considered, my Dad, and his sons were waiting. I came running in telling them all about what had happened, and to my surprise, they already knew. Poppy was quite irritated at me for being so careless about my safety.

It seemed everyone in that county must have had a scanner, for even his Poppy’s wife knew about the crazy woman waving a bull off the road, and so on and so forth. Can’t keep any secrets from anyone, anymore…Evidently, I had become quite a joke to most of the county tuning in on their scanners and Poppy knew it had to be me as soon as he heard about it being I was late.

I didn’t know all cattle could be dangerous and unpredictable, but Poppy knew I could be dangerous to myself and unpredictable. The joke was on me, along with a harsh scolding. Be sure to check a cow’s anatomy before you decide to do a good deed. It might be a good idea to take out some life insurance for situations like this one, as well, just in case. With my reputation for shenanigans, I would have a hard time getting any life insurance, as I’m sure I am considered a high risk!

13 thoughts on “Good Samaritan

  1. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse
    your blog on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.

    I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my phone ..

    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good site!

  2. I know you had to be scared when the bull turned your way! I know the feeling . . . from our buffalo fiasco in Yellowstone this summer! When you’re faced with a wild animal that could, well, hurt you . . . it’s pretty scary! You painted a wonderful picture of the event, and it did make me smile . . . but I promise I didn’t laugh! I hope you can smile about it now that the danger has passed! Heck, I even laugh at myself over the buffalo head-to-head with us on the motorcycle (talk about one of my more “brilliant” moments . . . HA!) Hugs to you Barb : )

Leave a Reply

