Roasting Chestnuts

in Alignment!

Roasting Chestnuts By Barbara C Rowe (Guest Blogger)

Barbara C Rowe, is an author of children’s books and she is also a prolific blogger; her blog’s URL is: https://barbaracroweauthor.wordpress.com/

Today, she is back with another great guest article and it is entitled: Roasting Chestnuts; may I also point out that this guest article is an excerpt from her upcoming book: You’re from the city…Right? Enjoy!

Roasting Chestnuts

Photo courtesy of resourcesgraphics.com

Photo courtesy of resourcesgraphics.com

In Ashe County it was like a Christmas wonderland with the snow capping the top of the tall pine trees. Our first Christmas was a beautiful one. The house we lived in was old and rustic complete with a pot-bellied stove placed in the living room for heat. It was quite cozy.

Being from the city, I was naive about most things concerning the area. Every holiday I went all out with decorations, cooking and holiday music especially around Thanksgiving and Christmas time. We had a lot of snow that year and I kept the tree up through most of January. The Christmas music drove my children nuts as I played morning, noon and night.

After supper one night, I had to give up control of the stereo so the family could watch T.V. On this particular day, firewood had been delivered; I had stacked it and brought kindling inside for the stove. Only recently had I learned how to make a descent fire in it.

I loved the whole atmosphere of my home and so did everyone who came to visit. Pies in the oven, scented candles lit everywhere and the tree decorated to boot. I had the stereo constantly blaring my favorite Johnny Mathis song, “Roasting Chestnuts on the Open Fire”.

Earlier in the year I had gone to a garage sale and purchased an old fireplace popcorn popper. I had no idea that a part of it was missing, but, gosh, I should have known because it was really cheap. I had also acquired a taste for chestnuts which I gotten hot and roasted from a local vendor close by.

I decided one day to buy a bag of raw ones to try and roast at home on my pot-bellied stove. There are certain preparations to roasting chestnuts, which I had not been told about. Well, while Johnny Mathis was playing, “Roasting Chestnuts on the Open Fire” I got the popcorn popper out, to roast my own chestnuts on my woodstove. I was excited about doing another new thing.

I put the nuts in the popper and placed it over the eye of the stove. In a short period of time those chestnuts were flying like rocket-propelled stones all over the living room. My son and I had to take cover behind the couch! Nuts were hitting windows, wall hangings, knocking things over and as we were laughing hysterically behind the couch, Johnny crooned away on the stereo.

After the last chestnut had fired across the living room, I looked around and found that it was quite a disaster. My son and I cleaned up the mess, laughing all the while. We laughed until our stomachs hurt! About the time we finished gathering the

chestnuts, my young son said “Mom can we do it again?” I couldn’t have laughed harder if I’d tried!

No one had told me you had to put a slit in those darn chestnuts to release the pressure that would build up during roasting. Lesson learned in a hysterical way.

So remember, if you plan on roasting chestnuts on an open fire have the right equipment and prepare them first. It was a wonderful and exciting Christmas, one I’ll never forget in spite of the mishap.

Copyright 2013 Barbara C Rowe Printed in the United States of America Worldwide Electronic & Digital Rights Worldwide English Language Print Rights All rights reserved. No part of this book or any written work may be reproduced, scanned or distributed in any form, including digital and electronic or mechanical, including photocopying, recording, or by any information storage and retrieval system, without the prior written consent of the Author, except for brief quotes for use in reviews. This book is a work of fiction. Characters, names, places and incidents either are the product of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously, and any resemblance to any actual persons, living or dead, events, or locales is entirely coincidental.

One thought on “Roasting Chestnuts

Leave a Reply

