Book review: Virtual Ascendance

Book of words

Virtual AscendanceAre you a gamer?

Prior to reading “Virtual Ascendance” by Devin Griffiths, I will probably not classify myself as a gamer because I barely spend time blasting monsters in front of my computer or clutching video remote controls. But I was wrong. I am, without me realizing, a gamer too. This book attempts to tackle the stereotypes we attribute to video gaming such as it is a geeky activity.

“This is more than a story about video games, though. It’s the story of an awakening, of a realization that while I wasn’t looking, a childhood pastime popular with lonely hearts and geeks exploded into a thriving, multi-billion dollar enterprise – one rooted in entertainment but whose tendrils reach into virtually all aspects of society.”

In fact, it surprised me when it pointed out that in the U.S., 40-year-old females made up the average age of people playing social games like…

View original post 356 more words

Leave a Reply

