“How Many Miles?”

Teenager girl sitting on road

How Many Miles?

He steals my heart and has changed my life

His voice touches my soul and gives me the illusion of peace

I know his heart is not with me, but with his ex-wife

How can I make this heartache cease?

Children conceived years ago with hope and love

All grown up and gone too soon

Lord, where is Your mercy and grace?

The heavens seem empty – no sun, stars, nor moon

How many miles must I travel to find my way?

How many times will men use and leave me?

When will I wake up and enjoy each day?

Let it be soon, for my heart longs to be free

Will he leave to travel the road back to the past?

Will she embrace him and make his decision clear?

Lord, I pray for closure of all things to come fast

For me not to be in agony and living in fear

How many miles must I travel to find my way?

How many times will men use and leave me?

When will I wake up and enjoy each day?

Let it be soon for my heart longs to be free

No more will I wander to seek what there is not

No more will I cry and wait for one to stay

Remembering all the dreams I had forgot

Oh Lord, hold me, guide me, I humbly and desperately pray

Leave a Reply

